Google+

Texas Driver’s Insurance Minimum Requirement

Texas state law has a variety of very specific requirements with regards to the amount and types of auto insurance protection that drivers in the state must carry. Specifically, all drivers must have at least $30,000 in bodily injury coverage per person on a specific policy. Additionally, $60,000 in bodily injury coverage per incident and $25,000 in property damage coverage per incident are also required. These types of liability coverage are designed to make sure that drivers are adequately prepared in the event that they are involved in an accident anywhere in the state regardless of who is driving a particular vehicle.

It is important to keep in mind that while the state of Texas does not require additional insurance, adding more coverage can also help protect you in a wide variety of different situations. You can add additional protection to make sure that you are never responsible for damages caused by an uninsured driver, for example. Other types of coverage will be available for you to add depending on the insurance provider that you choose.

For more information about laws regarding the legal requirement for driver’s insurance in Texas, please don’t hesitate to contact Pierce Insurance Group today.